Exit Sign Spacing Requirements (OSHA & NFPA 101)
Quick answer: OSHA 29 CFR 1910.37(b)(4) requires a directional exit sign wherever the direction of travel is not immediately apparent — and line of sight to a sign must be clear at all times. The practical spacing benchmark from NFPA 101 and UL 924 is every 100 feet on straight corridors, with a sign at every turn or corridor intersection. EXIT letters must be at least 6 inches high with 3/4-inch strokes; signs must be illuminated to at least 5 foot-candles. Below: the complete spacing, mounting, and illumination rules.
Related: full exit sign requirements, OSHA evacuation map display requirements, generate an egress map now, fire evacuation map requirements.
Map every exit sign and route in your facility
Upload your floor plan and OSHAMap generates an OSHA-aligned evacuation map draft showing exit sign locations, travel routes, and assembly point — supporting your 29 CFR 1910.38 EAP. Final review by a qualified safety professional is required before posting.
Trusted by offices, warehouses, clinics, schools, hotels & manufacturing sites.
Free Exit Sign Spacing & Compliance Checklist
Get the OSHA and NFPA 101 exit sign spacing rules in a print-ready checklist — emailed to you instantly.
- Spacing rules (OSHA + NFPA 101)
- Mounting height benchmarks
- Illumination thresholds
Free email access. Open online; print or save where available. No spam — unsubscribe anytime.
OSHA exit sign spacing rule (1910.37)
Federal OSHA addresses exit sign spacing through two clauses in 29 CFR 1910.37(b):
- 1910.37(b)(4) — Direction of travel: If the direction of travel to the exit or exit discharge is not immediately apparent, signs must be posted indicating the direction. The line of sight to an exit sign must be clearly visible at all times.
- 1910.37(b)(2) — Every exit marked: Each exit must be clearly visible and marked by a sign reading "EXIT."
- 1910.37(b)(3) — No obstructions: Each exit-route door must be free of decorations or signs that obscure the exit.
OSHA does not state a hard maximum spacing in feet. The functional test is whether an occupant on the exit route can always see a sign and always knows which direction to travel — not whether signs are placed at a specific interval.
The 100-foot spacing benchmark (NFPA 101 + UL 924)
Most authorities having jurisdiction (AHJs) and local fire codes adopt NFPA 101 Life Safety Code and UL 924 (Standard for Emergency Lighting and Power Equipment) as the technical standard for exit sign placement. Together they produce the practical 100-foot benchmark:
- UL 924 viewing distance: Listed exit signs carry a rated viewing distance — most are listed for 100 feet. That distance is the effective cap for sign spacing on a straight, unobstructed corridor.
- NFPA 101 §7.10.1.5: Requires signs to be "clearly visible" along the path of travel and supplemental directional signs to be provided wherever the route is not obvious.
- Decision points: At every corridor intersection, turn, or branching point, a sign must appear before the ambiguity — not after. A 100-foot straight-corridor spacing may need to be cut shorter if a turn occurs at 60 feet.
For your evacuation map, mark exit sign locations at every turn and at approximately 100-foot intervals on long corridors. This makes the map useful for inspectors and for training employees on the evacuation routes. Use the free egress map generator to place exit sign icons on your floor plan automatically.
Exit sign mounting height
OSHA 1910.37 specifies the letter dimensions for EXIT signs but does not set a universal mounting height. Mounting height requirements come from the adopted building and fire code:
- IBC §1013.1: The bottom of exit signs must be not less than 80 inches (6 ft 8 in) above the finished floor.
- NFPA 101 §7.10.1.3: Allows signs to be mounted on the door, above the door frame, or suspended from the ceiling — wherever they are "clearly visible" along the path of travel.
- High-smoke environments: Some jurisdictions require low-level egress path marking (photoluminescent strips or low-mounted signs below 18 inches) in addition to standard overhead signs in high-rise stairwells and certain occupancies.
Confirm the required mounting height with your local fire marshal or AHJ. Show sign locations on your posted evacuation map — this also documents the installation for inspection purposes.
EXIT letter size and illumination requirements
These are the only two numerical thresholds OSHA 29 CFR 1910.37(b) sets for exit signs:
- Letter height (1910.37(b)(7)): At least 6 inches high with principal strokes at least 3/4 inch wide.
- Illumination (1910.37(b)(6)): At least 5 foot-candles (54 lux) on the sign face by a reliable light source. Self-luminous signs must achieve at least 0.06 footlamberts (0.21 cd/m²).
UL 924 listed signs that pass the standard are accepted as meeting the OSHA illumination threshold when properly installed with the specified power source. Signs must also remain illuminated during a power failure — the 90-minute backup requirement comes from NFPA 101 §7.9 (emergency lighting), enforced by most local fire codes.
Common exit sign citation errors
- No sign where direction isn't obvious — a corridor turns and no directional sign is placed before the turn (1910.37(b)(4)).
- Line of sight blocked — inventory, shelving, or hanging displays interrupt the clear view to the next sign (1910.37(b)(4)).
- Undersized lettering — EXIT letters under 6 inches or strokes under 3/4 inch (1910.37(b)(7)).
- Dead lamp or dead battery — sign not illuminated to 5 foot-candles at time of inspection (1910.37(b)(6)).
- No sign at exit — a designated exit door with no EXIT sign at all (1910.37(b)(2)).
- Misleading door not labeled — a storage room or basement stair near an exit corridor with no "NOT AN EXIT" or use label (1910.37(b)(5)).
The single most effective preventive measure: generate and post an accurate evacuation map showing every exit sign location. Discrepancies between the map and the actual signs surface during your annual map review — before an inspector finds them. See the OSHA evacuation map display requirements for what the posted map itself must show, and the 12-element evacuation map checklist for the complete visual element list.
Frequently asked questions
What is the OSHA exit sign spacing requirement?
OSHA 29 CFR 1910.37(b)(4) does not set a hard maximum spacing in feet between signs. Instead it requires that wherever the direction of travel to the exit or exit discharge is not immediately apparent, a directional sign must be posted — and that the line of sight to an exit sign must be clearly visible at all times. In practice, the industry benchmark adopted from NFPA 101 and UL 924 is that exit signs should be spaced so any point along the exit route is within the sign's listed viewing distance, commonly 100 feet.
How far apart should exit signs be placed?
The practical spacing benchmark is every 100 feet, or closer wherever a corridor turns, intersects, or where line of sight to the next sign is interrupted. NFPA 101 §7.10.1.5 says exit signs must be 'clearly visible' along the path of travel. UL 924-listed signs carry a rated viewing distance (commonly 100 ft) — that rating is the spacing cap between signs on a straight corridor. At turns or decision points, a sign must appear before the direction of travel becomes ambiguous.
Does OSHA specify a maximum distance between exit signs?
Federal OSHA 29 CFR 1910.37 does not state a numeric maximum spacing between exit signs. The standard's requirement is functional: signs must make the direction of travel immediately apparent and must remain in the line of sight at all times. The 100-foot benchmark comes from NFPA 101 and UL 924 listing criteria, which most authorities having jurisdiction (AHJs) and local fire codes adopt. Check with your local fire marshal for the enforced spacing in your jurisdiction.
How high should exit signs be mounted?
OSHA 1910.37(b)(7) specifies letter dimensions (6-inch EXIT letters, 3/4-inch strokes) but does not set a universal mounting height. Mounting height is typically set by the adopted building or fire code (IBC, NFPA 101) and the AHJ. NFPA 101 §7.10.1.3 allows top-of-door mounted signs or ceiling-mounted signs; IBC §1013.1 requires the bottom of the sign to be no less than 80 inches above the finished floor. Verify with your local fire marshal.
When are directional exit signs required?
OSHA 29 CFR 1910.37(b)(4) requires a directional exit sign whenever the direction of travel to the exit or exit discharge is not immediately apparent. This means: at every corridor intersection, at any turn in the exit path, and at the beginning of corridors where the exit is not visible from the starting point. The arrow or chevron on the sign must accurately indicate the actual direction of travel toward the exit.
What is the minimum EXIT letter size under OSHA?
OSHA 29 CFR 1910.37(b)(7) requires the word 'Exit' to be in plainly legible letters not less than 6 inches high, with the principal strokes of the letters at least 3/4 inch wide. This applies to the lettering itself — not to the sign's overall dimensions or mounting height. Larger letters are required when viewing distances exceed the 6-inch baseline's legibility range.
How many lumens or foot-candles must an exit sign produce?
OSHA 29 CFR 1910.37(b)(6) requires each exit sign to be illuminated to at least 5 foot-candles (54 lux) on the sign face by a reliable light source. Self-luminous or electroluminescent signs must achieve a minimum luminance of 0.06 footlamberts (0.21 cd/m²). UL 924 listed signs that meet these thresholds satisfy the OSHA illumination requirement.
Do exit signs need battery backup?
OSHA 1910.37 requires exit signs to remain illuminated during emergencies but does not specify 90-minute battery backup by name. The 90-minute backup requirement comes from NFPA 101 §7.9 emergency lighting provisions and is enforced by most local fire codes that adopt NFPA 101. In practice, UL 924 listed exit signs with built-in battery backup that provides 90 minutes of illumination on emergency power are the industry standard to satisfy both OSHA and NFPA requirements simultaneously.
From guidance to a facility draft
Apply this guidance to a building-specific plan
Use the main maker for any building, or open a focused starting point with facility-specific review questions.
Open the Fire Escape Plan MakerImportant Legal Disclaimer
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) does not approve, endorse, recommend, or certify any commercial products or software. This platform is a compliance assistance tool only and is not affiliated with or endorsed by OSHA or any government agency.
All AI-generated evacuation maps, safety plans, and compliance documents must be reviewed, verified, and approved by a qualified safety professional, fire marshal, licensed engineer, or appropriate authority before being posted, distributed, or used for emergency planning purposes.
Employers retain full legal responsibility for workplace safety under the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (OSH Act). Users are solely responsible for ensuring compliance with all applicable local, state, and federal regulations. This software does not guarantee OSHA compliance.
This software does not constitute legal, safety consulting, engineering, or professional advice. Content is for informational purposes only. Users should consult qualified safety professionals and legal counsel for compliance guidance specific to their operations.
While we strive for accuracy, workplace safety regulations change frequently. We make no warranties regarding the accuracy, completeness, or current validity of any information. Users must independently verify all regulatory requirements applicable to their specific circumstances.
To the maximum extent permitted by law, OSHAMap, its owners, operators, affiliates, and licensors shall not be liable for any direct, indirect, incidental, special, consequential, or punitive damages arising from use of this service, including but not limited to workplace injuries, OSHA violations, regulatory fines, property damage, or any other losses.
Cost comparisons and savings estimates are based on industry averages for professional safety consultant fees and are provided for informational purposes only. Actual costs, savings, and results may vary significantly based on your specific situation.
By using OSHAMap, you acknowledge that you have read, understood, and agree to be bound by these terms. For complete terms, see our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.
OSHAMap is not endorsed by OSHA. Review this checklist with a qualified safety professional and verify all requirements that apply to your workplace before use.
